13 May 2015
Dr. Ogan Gurel


Dr. Ogan Gurel is Chief Innovation Officer at CampusD, a Seoul-based startup incubator, as well as a Visiting Professor at the Samsung Advanced Institute of Health Sciences and Technology (Sungkyunkwan University/Samsung Medical Center) with research interests in protein electrodynamics and terahertz medicine. He is also Director & Innovation Advisor at DRB Holdings, Ltd. as well as Innovation Ambassador at the Korea Business Leaders Alliance (KBLA). Previously, he served as a Director in the CTO office and Open Innovation group at the Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology (SAIT). His wide healthcare expertise covers the clinical, business, executive management, marketing and R&D sides, with direct experience in medical devices, mobile health, healthcare IT, medical imaging, and pharmaceuticals. Prior to surgical training at the Massachusetts General Hospital, he obtained his M.D. Alpha Omega Alpha from Columbia University where he worked in structural biology (x-ray crystallographic studies of growth factors with Prof. Wayne Hendrickson), was a visiting researcher at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble (working with Dr. Giuseppe Zaccai on membrane proteins), and obtained his Bachelor’s in Biochemical Sciences cum laude from Harvard College, studying the then nascent field of protein dynamics with Prof. Martin Karplus, 2013 Chemistry Nobel Laureate

His detailed biography can be found here

The abstract of his talk can be found here.

14 May 2015
Prof. Antonio H. Castro Neto


Prof. Neto is the Director of Centre for Advanced 2D Materials and Graphene Research Centre and also a Distinguished Professor with Department of Physics and Professor at Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Department of Materials Science Engineering at National University of Singapore. He is the Colloquia Editor for Reviews of Modern Physics, and member of the Editorial Board of “Chinese Physics B” and “Acta Physica Sinica”. Prof. Castro Neto was awarded the 11th Ross J. Martin Award by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the University of California Regent Fellowship, the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, the visiting Miller Professorship by the University of California, Berkeley, the visiting Gordon Godfrey Professorship by the University of New South Wales, Australia, the Distinguished Visiting Chair Professor at the SKKU Advanced Institute of Nano-Technology (SAINT), South Korea, and the Hsun Lee Lecture Award by the Institute of Metal Research at the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

His short biography can be found here

The abstract of his talk can be found here.