Hosted By



The first ECE Graduate Student Symposium held on 10 & 11 May 2012, at the Faculty of Engineering witnessed high quality 152 oral and 38 poster presentations by students of ECE department. The highlight was the keynote speech by Prof Krishna Saraswat, Rickey/Nielsen Professor in the School of Engineering at Stanford University.
The main objective of the Symposium is to further enhance the quality of graduate seminar as well as providing a platform for undergraduates, graduates students and faculty to exchange the latest research findings and ideas. The symposium also provides a unique networking opportunity for students and faculty from NUS with leading industry experts in the field.
The Symposium focus on research works and progress under 7 department research areas:

  • Communication & Networks
  • Control, Intelligent Systems & Robotics
  • Integrated Circuits & Embedded Systems Circuits
  • Microelectronic Technologies & Devices
  • Microwave & RF
  • Power & Energy Systems and
  • Signal Processing & New Media.

The proceedings is now available and can be accessed from the navigation menu. Also the best paper awards have been announced.

Best Paper Award

After rounds of evaluations and interviews with the short-listed finalists, the judges have chosen the following winners for their outstanding research contribution and effective communication/presentation skills.

S/No. Category Position Names
1 Overall Winner
(Signal Processing & New Media)
Sponsored by ECE Department
Overall Winner Wang Lei
2 Communications & Networks Track
Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society
- Nguyen Duy Hieu
3 Power & Energy Systems Track
Sponsored by IEEE Power & Energy Society
1st Ma Fajun
2nd Parikshit Yadav
4 Microelectronic Technologies & Devices Track
Sponsored by IEEE Reliability/CPMT/ED
Singapore Chapter
1st Moe Kevin
2nd Wang Nan
3rd Liu Xinming
5 Control, Intelligent Systems & Robotics Track
Sponsored by ECE Department
1st Yang Yue
2nd Shim Vui Ann
6 Integrated Circuits & Embedded Systems Track
Sponsored by ECE Department
- Zhang Xiaoyang
7 Microwave and RF Track
Sponsored by ECE Department
1st Yasaman Kiasat Dolat Abadi
2nd Lu Xiaoming
3rd Hu Feng

The prize giving ceremony will take place during our 5th ECE Graduate Tea Session on Monday, 27th August 2012, from 11.00am to 12.00noon.